top of page

"The Last Words"


Hello Fancy Hat Ladies!!

It was a pleasure hosting the 2015 Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon. From coordinating transporting the butterflies from their farm in Orlando to the “Trinite Teas” being shipped from Trinidad & Tabago, I tried to leave no stone unturned

Kim and Jocelyn Copeland participating in the surprise element of Lauren Francis-Sharma’s attendance was a crucial part of the event. You see, when I contacted Lauren on September 23rd of 2014 and she responded that she was available; I told Mama that I did not believe I could surprise the guests with her attendance. Mama said..."Well, just try, if they figure it out, they just figure it out, but just try…I like that” So, I devised this plan for a guest to be in on it, and who better than mother/daughter duo, Kim and Jocelyn. I called Jocelyn in December and told her my idea; and she agreed. I closed the conversation with “whatever Mama wants, Mama gets!” She and I revisited that conversation (with hugs and smiles) on the lawn, after the reveal…, and said “We did it, Mama!”

This year’s Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon exceeded my expectations. Watching the weather was sooooo "taxing" this year. The rain chance changed daily depending upon which local meterologist you watched.

Finally, on the morning of the Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon, my worst fears materialized. I left my home at 7:30 and the storm clouds were looming. As I reached the Ritz-Carlton with my sister-in-law, Lisa there was a "mini" monsoon as the valet unloaded my vehicle. With all the wind and rain, I was still optomistic because I was not going to let anything stop the butterfly release. When others doubted; Lisa and I remained confident that the weather would take a turn for the better.

As we readied the space and the Ritz Special Events Manager, Bobby Arrmstrong (who is AWESOME, by the way) directed the band, florist, audio visual, photographer and catering; there was no time to take a look outside. As Lisa and I did our time checks, we were right on schedule to go into the green room and dress for the event at 10:00 am. Lo and behold, the sun was not only out, it was shining and there were birds singing and a cool breeze rolling over the ocean. I KNOW It was divine intervention that made this day beautiful!!

All who know me, know that I have a difficult time receiving any type of assistance with an event, project or task. This year; I opened the door ever so slightly and cautiously, and would like to offer thanks to the following family members and friends:

Celestial – This year as in the previous years, Celestial was my right hand during the planning stages. She (and my friend, Valerie) helped me with the dubious task of reading several books that I selected as contenders for the event. This reading process began in June of 2014 (yes, June)’ Celestial and Valerie read at least 50% of no less than 4-5 different books each! Celestial is also the one I go to for making flight arrangements and designing the beautiful invitations each year.

Celeste – Celeste handled the task that I desire the least: The dredded RSVP list. Celeste took charge of this list for me and updated me often. The “yeses” that turned into “regrets” and back to "yeses" again did not frustrate her at all; she simply updated the list and emailed it out!

Lisa – Lisa prepared and packaged the totes for me; pressing and folding 60+ tote bags to perfection was no simple task. Guests were curious; they had no idea what was in the cellephane bag because it was packaged so cleverly. Lisa also addressed over 60 envelopes for the invitations, and arrived early with me to the Ritz-Carlton on the day of the event to assist me with staging the tables.

Lauren Francis-Sharma is not only an incredible author, she has a kind and gracious spirit that resonates. This was quite evident throughout the planning process and especially upon our first face to face meeting. She was speaking with my friend, Rosilyn in the buffet line (remember, she sent me a photo of her dress – so I knew who she was). I went up to her and said, Angela, you made it!! Have you seen JayCee and KayCee? I gave her the slightest “side hug” (trying not to give our plan away); but I knew, we were both beaming inside.

It was awesome to see Lauren participate in the Butterfly release and interact with the guests with ease and patience. During the autograph session, everyone commented on how genuine and accomodating Lauren was. We knew she truly appreciated her audience, and the feeling was mutual.

Yes, there were so many memorable moments this year, and I am thankful that we can return to the website as often as we like to re-live the day and share our photos with family and friends.

I would be remiss if I did not thank you all for writing your reviews. The Amazon review count reach 200 on May 31st with Celestial's review, and continues to climb! Whoooo Hooooo!!

Lauren shared a “sneak peek” of her paperback cover (to be released in September) with us. We are some of the first readers to see it!!

Lauren, I cannot thank you enough for attending The Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon this year; We will be following your literary journey and wishing you much success and many more accolades and awards. Keep writing and we will keep reading.. You are AMAZING!!

Smooches,

JayBee

*Special Thank you to Jessica with Riverbend Media

(904) 610-5202 for capturing beautiful images of the Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon 2015!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page