top of page

From The Heart Of Trinidad


I was excited and anxious for my friend of over 25 years, Rachel to "weigh in" on this year's Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon selection, "Til The Well Runs Dry."

Rachel, was born and raised in this exoctic land of the Hummingbird and I have heard stories from her about Trinidad's culture since we met.

During my reading of 'Til The Well Runs Dry", Rachel was helpful in explaining some of the foods and delectable sweets mentioned in the book. Often during my reading, I would call her and ask her to explain the taste and texture of a fruit or sweet and she would graciously oblige me with all the flair and animation that the delicacy deserved

Before I informed her that I'd received 60+ positive rsvps, Rachel (an excellent baker) volunteered to prepare some of these "Trini" sweets for the luncheon,

We would call and text each other during the reading process, and Rachel was excited to share her point of view and even more elated (or should I say "proud") to inform me that she located a "stunning" hat that matched the colors of the Trinidadian flag. She also had the Trinidad flag painted on one of her fingernails; especially for the luncheon.

Yesterday, Rachel sent me a text, stating that her sister was visting from Trinidad and that she brought some "Trini" Sweets with her. So, I asked her to take some photos and send to me; here are some of Rachel's favorites...most of which were mentioned in the book:

Platter on left:

Green rounds are Green Papaya (Pawpaw) candy; then we have Tamarind Balls and Fine Tulllum balls. Enclosed in the packaging are Kurma and Gulab Jamoon (from the Indian sector) - these are a fried, pastry like dough; dipped in a candy auteur

Platter on right:

Currant Rolls (which are a coveted pastry of Trinidad); Coconut Rolls w/ a serving of an Indian sweet called Barfi (lighter colored triangles); The sweet enclosed in the package is called Tullum

Thank you, Rachel for "plating" and sharing photos of your "Trini" Treats...don't forget to save me a Tamarind Ball!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page