top of page

"My Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon Experience...In My Own Words" Part I


(This is the first of several installments that Lauren Francis-Sharma, Author of 'Til The Well Runs Dry" will write about her Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon experience. I will be posting her writings throughout the week for your reading pleasure...enjoy!!)

When I first received the email from Jennie, I must admit I was a bit suspicious. A luncheon at the Ritz- Carlton on Amelia Island for seventy of her closest friends and family?! Who does that?! So, of course, I Googled “Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon” and lo and behold, it turned out to be a real thing!

“Yes, indeed, I’ll be there!” I wrote in an email to Jennie.

Soon afterward, my editor began sending me links for hat stores all over the country. The idea of seeing me in a hat seemed to tickle her though it frightened me to no end. A hat? On me? But what if it blew away?

I bought the perfect dress in the Spring but still there was no hat. Then, a new problem arose: my editor needed me to travel to New York City on Sunday morning to participate on a panel. How could I travel from Florida to Manhattan, knowing I would have to lug my suitcase all day, with a hat box?

“Send me a picture of your dress,” Jennie said. “I’m sure I’ll have a hat.”

Because of a flight delay, I arrived late to the Ritz-Carlton. I was met at my car by a young man who held out a shopping bag. “This is from the organizer of your event,” he said. I grabbed the bag and headed into the hotel where lovely ladies in hats were already being greeted by a woman I presumed was Jennie. Upstairs, I dressed quickly then retrieved the hat from the bag. “Goodness!” I thought to myself. It was beautiful and bold and red. AND BIG! I tipped it to the left, then to the right, then back to the left again. There was little time to gawk at myself. However, as I walked toward the elevator, passing hotel guests and staff who greeted me with smiles, I began to feel a little leaner, a little taller, a little more lady-like, a little more refined in my big red hat. I was no longer the surprise author, I was now Angela Evans from Clermont, Florida and I was a proud guest at the Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page