top of page

Community, Fellowship And A Love of Books!


I exited the stage with gifts aplenty. Tiffany bags, hugs, applause and the memory of some great questions. The spirit of respect, ease, appreciation and meticulousness that draped the luncheon followed us down to the beach where we were called to mark the life and passing of Mama, by the release of butterflies. Mama was a woman I have never met though Jennie spoke of her each time we chatted about the impending luncheon. Somehow, it felt as if she and I already knew each other. Perhaps it was because I thought of my own grandmother or perhaps it was because there seemed irony in the fact that my grandmother’s remarkable life brought me there to celebrate another remarkable grandmother’s life.

The mood along the shore was reflective as Jennie and her family called Mama’s name. I took a moment to thank God for bringing me to Amelia Island on that most special occasion. Nothing was lost on me; not the tears in her children’s eyes, the clear blue sky, the easy breeze, the sand fighting its way through blades of grass beneath our well-heeled feet. Once the monarch

This We Do In Memory Of You

Mama, Granny, Ma, Mama V., Vernita J. Holmes "We Speak Your Name"

(Video Captured by Kathryn Russell)

butterflies caught the wind beneath their wings, the cameras were pulled out of the many colorful purses. There were group photos, individual snapshots, blinking eyes, sunglasses, reapplied lipstick, wide smiles and of course, diva poses! In all my years, I have never “diva posed”, but Jennie insisted. So, I threw my hands upon my hips, stretched out that neck, tilted that big red hat and batted those eyelashes for my best impression of Mary Wilson in the shadow of Diana Ross (in this case Jennie Blue!). It felt silly and fun and whimsical and carefree and there was something in those moments on that beach that reminded me that this writing thing has given me more than just words on paper, it has given me an opportunity to connect. As I chatted and laughed and posed with the many women who patiently waited in line to have their books autographed, I remembered that this was what The Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon was all about---community and fellowship and a love of books. These women were my women. And I can’t thank them enough for making me feel that and so much more.

With Love Always,

Lauren


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page