top of page

How To Pick A Hat


By: Guest Blogger ~ Celestial

“I don’t wear hats.” “I don’t look good in hats.” These are just a couple of the remarks I’ve heard in preparation for the 2015 Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon. You may not believe this, but I said the same thing before the first Fancy Hat. I was nervous about finding a hat that would look good on me because I had never worn a hat before. However, with guidance, I found the perfect type of hat for me.

This year’s event is right around the corner. You may be dragging your feet because you feel like you don’t know what you are doing. If so, this post is for you! Here’s some help with determining what hat will look best on you.

Size Matters

The first factor is knowing what size hat to select. Unfortunately, one size does not fit all. An ill-fitting hat is not only unbecoming, it will also cause you angst. You will either have a headache from your hat squeezing your head too tightly or your hat will fall off every time you move your head. Either result may hamper your fun on the big day.

The size of your head and the way you wear your hair can affect the styles you’ll be able to wear. Since I wear locs, it is often difficult to find a crown big enough to accommodate my head and all of my hair. As a result, hatinators (a hybrid of a hat and a fascinator) are better suited to me. Finding a large enough crown may also be an issue if you wear hair extensions. Your best bet is to get some help and measure your head, especially if you plan to order your hat online. Here’s a website that can help you with measuring technique:

Framing Your Face

The second and probably most important factor is choosing a hat that flatters your face and body. Think of the right hat like a picture frame. You’ve got to frame that face! Many articles I found online (here; here; and here; ) encourage you to know the shape of your face and what styles match that shape. I’ve got an easier solution. Choose a hat that is proportionate to your head and body. If you have a long face, a tiny hat will look imbalanced. If your face is small, a huge hat will appear disproportionate. If your face is wide, a narrow hat will look unflattering. Choose the frame that best accentuates the picture you want to present.

Style and Color

As far as the style of your hat, this is your opportunity to show your personality. The shape of the hat and the way you "cock" the hat on your head are both complimentary to who you are. Give face and give hattitude!

The color should definitely compliment your outfit, but it should also compliment your skin tone and your hair color (if your hair will be visible). If you know what colors look good against your skin, stay with those colors. Side note, I find my hat first and then I find my outfit.

My final piece of advice…

"Wear your hat, don’t let your hat wear you! "


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page