top of page

Our Matriarch


This blog is one of celebration - Celebration of the Matriarch of our family, Vernita J. Holmes, lovingly known to many as "Granny"

The morning of January 17th 2015 began with a very early morning call from Mama, who was in the hospital wondering where I was. I responded..."I'm on my way" and she said.."You are?!" Within 30 minutes, I walked into her room and she was sitting in the recliner pouting because she did not want to be there (this was her normal position with regards to hospital stays, which is no different from most of us). I told her I had a secret that I was going to share with her that would be sure to cheer her up. She gave me that childlike smile and her eyes widened. I said, "okay, it was going to be a surprise, but Liticia "Tiny" (her niece that she has not seen in over 20 years) is coming to the Fancy Hat this year!" Wow, she was so excited and this news immediately changed her entire mood and she had a new attitude!

I gave her my IPad with directions and she began perusing the Fancy Hat site as if she were an expert. She exclaimed that the hats, flowers and site in general were so colorful and festive, that it makes you smile. I told her that Lisa said the exact same thing, and we laughed. We sat in the large hospital recliner together like two children and talked about some of the previous Fancy Hat Luncheons and plans for May. I told her that I wanted her to help me with the menu (everyone who knows Mama, knows that she had a love affair with food) and of course she agreed and said; "we need to get started because May will be here before you know it."

I told Mama that I wanted to interview her for the January spotlight and she immediately told me which photo (above) she wanted me to use. I gave her a sample question; "What do you think Mama Francina would think of all of this?" She hesitated and I asked..."Do you think she would feel unworthy of such an honor?" No, Mama replied, "I think she would feel honored and proud of her family. I conceded and put away my "pretend" microphone because she said that she needed to be better prepared for our interview. As many of you know, Mama was a perfectionist in her own right, and things had to be done, spoken and acted upon in order.

Mama simply loved the Fancy Hat Literary Luncheon, ( or any excuse for a family "get-together") and to be honest, one of the main reasons I host this event, is because of her.

We are ALL missing (and will continue to miss) Mama very much...it is a feeling like no other; What gives us peace is knowing that she is in a MUCH better place. We feel her spirit, and carry her in our hearts everywhere we go.

So, let's celebrate family, literature, joy, and the legacy of Vernita J. Holmes ~ our Mother, Mama, Granny, "Ma" and "Mama V". Smooches!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page